Skip to content

   

CAR Reviews

Click Thumbnails to Enlarge

Statistics

How much? £37,950
On sale in the UK: September 2011
Engine: 2179cc 16v 4-cyl turbodiesel, 188bhp @ 3500rpm, 332lb ft @ 2000rpm
Transmission: Eight-speed automatic, rear-wheel drive
Performance: 8.5sec 0-62mph, 140mph (limited), 52.3mpg, 149g/km CO2
How heavy / made of? 1745kg/steel
How big (length/width/height in mm)? 4961/1920/1460
Need to know

CAR's rating

Rated 5 out of 55

Handling

Rated 4 out of 54

Performance

Rated 5 out of 55

Usability

Rated 4 out of 54

Feelgood factor

Rated 5 out of 55

Readers' rating

Rated 3 out of 53

Jaguar XF 2.2 D (2011) CAR review

By Ben Pulman

First Drives

28 June 2011 13:14

This new, facelifted XF 2.2 D is a very important car for Jaguar. If the Coventry company’s predictions are correct, it’ll nearly double XF sales, from 12k units in 2010 to 20k in 2012 (deliveries don’t start until September 2011). Fleet sales will be boosted as it dips below the crucial 160g/km tax threshold, and 43% of XFs to leave the Castle Bromwich factory over the coming years will be 2.2 Ds.

That’s not all. The new four-pot diesel’s arrival coincides with a mid-life facelift for the entire XF range, ushering in the C-XF concept car's looks and an updated interior. Read on for CAR’s first drive review of the new Jaguar XF 2.2 D.

Jaguar XF 2.2 D, huh? That must mean it’s a four-cylinder diesel engine, right?

Right, but we don’t expect the same sort of uproar from Jag fans that came when the company first fitted a for-pot oiler into the X-type in 2003. This is a car the company must build, and the more it sells, the more money that can be put into projects like the XE sports car and C-X75 supercar.

The engine itself is the 2.2-litre, single turbo, four-cylinder diesel that will soon debut in the Range Rover Evoque. Only here it’s been installed in a north-south configuration for the first time, necessitating a whole host of ancillary changes, including new engine mounts, a new oil pan and different sound deadening. On that note, the 2.2 D benefits from a new twin-layer bulkhead to further reduce noise, additional sound deadening moulded around the turbocharger, alternator and starter, and all new diesel XFs feature active engine mounts too.

You’ll be telling me its front-wheel drive next…

No we won’t – the XF remains resolutely rear-drive, with those two back wheels driven by a ZF-sourced eight-speed automatic. It’s the only transmission choice, and it’s mated to Jaguar’s first-ever stop/start system. And a very good system it is too, shutting down regardless of whether the air-con is on or not.

So what are the official figures like?

No match for Audi’s A6 2.0 TDI or BMW’s 520d unfortunately. Even with the stop/start system, the headline figures are 149g/km CO2 (both the Germans manage 129g/km) and 52.3mpg (again a little behind).

The power output is par for this class, but the torque figure is class leading, a chunky 332lb ft. That’s also 12lb ft more than the original XF 2.7 D in a car that weighs 26kg less; the 2.2 D is a few tenths slower to 62mph, but it’s nearly 15mpg better.

What about the new looks?

The headlights are sleeker, mimicking the style of the gorgeous C-XF concept – about time too, we say. There are also new XK-aping, C-shaped LED daytime running lights built into the headlamps, and much better than the slightly aftermarket looking items that were integrated into the metal strakes in the lower bumper on the current model.

LEDs feature in the rear lights too, and there’s an extra light element below the narrower chrome blade on the boot. We’re not sure about the new, chromed side vent though, and the sharper looks only draw attention to those slightly flabby sides – nothing has been done about the Lexus GS-alike hips.

So that’s the outside, but what about the inside?

A few subtle but important changes. There’s a lot less silver plastic, and all the buttons are now rubberized items and all the better for it. The super-simple cruise control remains, but there are now rubberized wheel spokes too, there’s a little more shape to the gearshift surround, but alas we’ve lost the hidden touchpad that opened the glovebox – it’s now just a boring button. The rotating air vents and rising rotary gearshift remain.

Our test car came in top-level Premium Luxury spec, which means everything from sat-nav and leather, to Bluetooth connectivity and heated front seats are standard – essentially, it’s got everything on it you’ll ever need. Traditionally the Premium Luxury trim has accounted for 28% of sales and lesser Luxury trim has taken 29%, but expect a little shift towards the latter with the new 2.2.

Right, so what’s it like to drive?

Very, very good. It’s nimble and agile in a way that no car this big has any right to be, the steering is quick, light and full of feel, and… and the chassis is so sweet you’ll soon find yourself wanting and wishing for more power. Driven an E-class recently? The XF exists in a different world, but the downside is the same slight problem that afflicts all modern Jags – a firm ride. It’s not 1-series M tough though, and we reckon the trade-off is worth it.

Only on start-up (especially when cold) and when you’re really thrashing it does the engine betray its four-cylinder roots, but for the rest of the time it’s smooth and quiet. Best to twist that gear selector in S if you’re pushing on though; with eight cogs to choose from, the transmission will be forever shifting down and searching for the right ratio if you leave it in D. There are paddles, but they’re still small, plasticky items with a short, unsatisfying throw.

Verdict

It’s brilliant to drive, but those all-important official fuel and emissions figures can’t quite compete with the class best. The solution? Let your heart rule your head on this one.

1

Rate this article...

Average rating: Rated 3 out of 53 (105 votes)

Discuss this

Add your comment

Jaguar XF 2.2 D (2011) CAR review

Subject

Your comment

By submitting your comment, you agree to adhere to the CAR Magazine website Terms and Conditions

Cancel

 

nersen

reward badge

nersen says

RE: Jaguar XF 2.2 D (2011) CAR review

agree that while they have sorted the front lights, they have spoiled the rear lights...... shame it couldn't share the rear lights of the XJ......  sure, it would have been a mini XJ then...... but that'd a be a good thing!

 

06 July 2011 23:36

 

fleabane

fleabane says

RE: Jaguar XF 2.2 D (2011) CAR review

I have a 3.0D and it's a fabulous place to be, but it could do with going on a diet and I hope that jaguar have made the decision to produce the next XF in aluminium.

04 July 2011 16:59

 

rickerby

reward badge

rickerby says

RE: Jaguar XF 2.2 D (2011) CAR review

Jaguar have decontented the car to bring the base SE model in at 30K - Theres no sat nav and "Alcantara" seats that look just like the cloth seat my Dads Vauxhall Victor used to have. Step up to a properly specced Luxury model and it costs the same as the 3 litre V6 used to. The XF used to represent value for money in this sector. Not any more.

30 June 2011 19:53

 

alfajock

alfajock says

RE: Jaguar XF 2.2 D (2011) CAR review

So, the default story angle in all the mags is “lovely car, shame it’s not quite as efficient as the Germans”, based on comparing manual BMW emissions at 129 with auto Jag’s at 149 g/km. Other posters have correctly pointed out that the comparable auto BMW is of course 137 g/km.

Most sales will be of the Lux model with full leather and nav at £33,950. If you a spec the BMW to match the Jag and add Auto, Pro Nav, Xenons and a USB port to run your Ipod, it costs £32,760. By my calcs the tax difference at 40% is £31 per month – in line with what other posters have said.

But don’t forget most company car users get HMRC approved business mileage rates – and as the Jag is over 2.0 litres this means it attracts an extra 3p per mile. Assume either will do 10mpg less than the official figures in the real world, and for my mileage this cuts the difference in cost to £4 per month – in other words completely irrelevant. Although I’m not personally interested in an A6, I suspect the numbers would be very similar. Either will save me well over £100 a month against my current C320 CDI when I change in the new year.

So, a straight fight based on heart or head – and I think the Jag’ll sell by the truck load. This sector of the market is astonishingly well furnished for choice at the moment.
 

30 June 2011 10:13

 

Johann

reward badge

Johann says

RE: Jaguar XF 2.2 D (2011) CAR review

Finally the headlights it has always deserved but those rear lights!!!!!!!  By just adding that tiny sliver of red under the silver horizontal bar they ruined the lovely distinctive rear lights and made them dead standard oval blobs!  Yuck.

29 June 2011 18:24

Become a CAR contributor

Upload stories, photos or videos direct to the site, or email newsdesk@carmagazine.co.uk.

Alternatively, call 01733 468 485 (+ 44 1733 468 485)

CAR magazine December issue
Untitled Document

Become a CAR contributor

Seen a secret new car, fabulous exotic or have news we should publish? Then get in touch now.