Deconstructing Audi’s new naming structure

Published: 24 August 2017

► New naming conventions for Audi
► Badges aim to clarify hierarchy
► But did they need changing? 

Just when you thought you were on top of Audi’s fast-expanding range of sports-utility-coupe-aloon-backs, the German giant has thoughtfully thrown new names at its full range of cars to keep you on your toes. 

Why is Audi changing its cars’ badges?

Good question. Ingolstadt claims it’s harder to discern a hierarchy in a range based on the size of the engine, especially when you get 2.0-litre petrol engines firing out several hundred horsepower, for example. 

Fine, we’ll accept that as there’s no arguing that engine technology has moved on, but what was wrong with calling a 2000cc car a 2.0-litre? 

What will my next Audi be called?

Instead of something like a 2.0 TDI, a number relating to the car’s power output will be used instead. Audi has designated a range of numbers from 25 to 55, with each number representing a particular output range. 

Audi A8 50 TDI Quattro: we decipher Audi's new badges and nomenclature

It’s expected higher number will be introduced as more powerful engines become available. The new names are being introduced with the new 2018 Audi A8 range.

I’m confused…

Us too. Here’s an example of what Audi model names will look like, and why. 

  • 25 – 80kW (107bhp) and below 
  • 30 – 81-96kW (109-129bhp)
  • 35 – 110-120kW (148-161bhp)
  • 40 – 125-150kW (168-201bhp)
  • 45 – 169-185kW (227-248bhp)
  • 50 – 210-230kW (282-308bhp)
  • 55 – 245-275kW (329-369bhp)

Following this number will be the engine technology: either TFSI, TDI, g-tron or e-tron.

So instead of your car being badged an Audi A8 3.0 TFSI, it’ll now be called an Audi A8 55 TFSI (below), because it produces 335bhp and falls in the 55 range. 

The new 2018 Audi A8: first to introduce the new Audi badges and names

At the other end of the scale, a 93bhp Audi A1 1.0 TFSI will become an Audi A1 25 TFSI. Got it? Good. 

What about S and RS models?

These will keep their current names to distinguish them from the rest of the regular Audi range. An RS5 will still be an RS5, in short.

When can I buy an Audi with the new badge nomenclature?

The new naming structure will kick off with the new A8, and will be rolled out across the Audi range as and when new model lines are launched, or as part of 2018 model year updates.

Read all our Audi reviews here

By Tom Goodlad

Bauer Automotive's former continuity editor and CAR contributor