Skip to content

   

CAR Reviews

Click Thumbnails to Enlarge

Statistics

How much? £13,195
On sale in the UK: October 2008
Engine: 1596cc four-cylinder, 118bhp @ 6000rpm, 112lb ft @ 4050rpm
Transmission: Five-speed manual, front-wheel drive
Performance: 9.9sec 0-62mph, 120mph, 47.9mpg, 139g/km CO2
How heavy / made of? 979kg - 1119kg, steel
How big (length/width/height in mm)? 3950/1722 (without mirrors)/1481
Need to know

CAR's rating

Rated 4 out of 54

Handling

Rated 3 out of 53

Performance

Rated 4 out of 54

Usability

Rated 4 out of 54

Feelgood factor

Rated 4 out of 54

Readers' rating

Rated 3 out of 53

Ford Fiesta 1.6 (2008) CAR review

By Phil McNamara

First Drives

27 August 2008 08:37

Here’s the first drive verdict on Ford’s all-new Fiesta, the most important supermini to be launched in 2008. Not only is the Fiesta Britain’s best-selling small car and the sporting driver’s choice, it’s also the backbone of loss-making Ford’s turnaround plan.


By 2010, the Fiesta hatchback will be on sale in Asia and North America (as well as Europe), a global strategy that will be rolled out to the next-generation Focus and Mondeo, as Ford battles for profitability. But has the desire to please everyone led to a mixed-up mess that will satisfy nobody? Read our first drive of the 1.6-litre petrol Fiesta to find out.

CAR is in Tuscany, Italy, driving the European version of the new hatchback. The Fiesta goes on UK sale in October 2008, priced from £8695 for a three-door Studio model running the base 59bhp 1.25-litre petrol. We tested a plush 1.6-litre Titanium spec model, with five doors, a new four-cylinder Ti-VCT petrol kicking out 118bhp and a lofty £13,195 fee. The price may be indulgent but the equipment is too: cruise control, auto headlamps and wipers, leather seats, keyless entry, Bluetooth ‘phone connectivity and big alloys are all included, to catch affluent punters ready to downsize.


That’s enough spec – tell us how it drives!

Grab the door handle and the door feels light but stiff, and shuts with a satisfying clunk. The outgoing Fiesta felt as robust as the lid on a Roses chocolates tin, so this is a vital sensation. Especially if it is to convince Americans to embrace a smaller car. Turn the steering to exit the parking lot, and the featherlight wheel spins quicker than an airplane propeller. Its direct, light approach makes low speed manoeuvring a doddle. Trouble is, once the on-the-move gearing kicks in, the steering is a let-down.

Click 'Next' to read the rest of our Ford Fiesta (2008) first drive review

Rate this article...

Average rating: Rated 3 out of 53 (293 votes)

Discuss this

Add your comment

Ford Fiesta 1.6 (2008) CAR review

Subject

Your comment

By submitting your comment, you agree to adhere to the CAR Magazine website Terms and Conditions

Cancel

 

cabinscooter

cabinscooter says

RE: Ford Fiesta 1.6 Titanium (2008): CAR review

After 30years of driving company cars, I spent something like nine months researching to choose the next new car of my own. This included many test drives and some longer courtesy car experiences. I looked at just about every city car (I was really taken with the Fiat 500 but decided it was too small for my uses) and supermini on the market. I finally narrowed it down to the Fiat Grande Punto and the previous Ford Fiesta. When this new Fiesta came out, a test drive clinched it for me with the brilliant driving experience and refinement. Not that the Fiat was far behind and was quite a bit cheaper. I don't believe that whether the rear brakes are disc or drum really matters as 95% of the braking work is done by the front discs. That is,of course, unless you are a "handbrake turn" specialist or do a lot of high speed reversing ! I plumped for a 1.6 TDCI Titanium with extras like reversing sensors and Blue Tooth thrown in by the helpful Ford dealer. As I chose the 1.6 diesel over the 1.4, I am having to wait a little longer as it is a factory order. The torque figures of the 1.6 over the 1.4 outweighed the small extra cost.

24 January 2009 08:42

 

ali749

ali749 says

RE: Ford Fiesta 1.6 Titanium (2008): CAR review

i will first say what a joke this car is,when i went to have a look at one i found it cramped,uncomfortable and couldn,t stay in it for 5 minutes.When i saw the drum brakes at the rear i about rolled round the showroom floor laughing,the one i looked at was a black zetec s with all the options on,i have own fords for a few years and my present car is a 51 plate 2.0 focus esp and before that i had a fiesta mk 6 St however when i do come to change my car i will be going straight down to the Honda showroom for a brand new Jazz with a glass roof and all round disc brakes,when the verve concept car came out i really thought ford were going places, however that car was just a tease compared to the real thing. i actually asked the salesman when a glass roof was being offered and he didn,t know and if rear discs were ever going to be offerd he couldn,t answer either questions,i would have sent a letter to ford themselves however i couldn,t even find a contact address

03 November 2008 13:22

 

kkirkou

reward badge

kkirkou says

RE: Ford Fiesta 1.6 Titanium (2008): CAR review

Nice little thing, especially compared to the old kickable one. But isn't there a trend taking place? Look at the profile shape of the windows. SEAT Leon, Lancia Delta and now this. Aren't there copy rights? Bar the front and rear of these cars, they could all be from the same manufacturer, only in different sizes for different segments.

31 August 2008 23:09

 

NaBUru38

reward badge

NaBUru38 says

RE: Ford Fiesta 1.6 Titanium (2008): CAR review

Archibold, EuroNCAP has a section about what you're saying: http://www.euroncap.com/Content-Web-Faq/5076ae48-c23c-4933-ad63-0449b3a6425b/cars-chosen-for-testing.aspx _ As you said, the best selling trim level is chosen for testing, not the least equipped one.

31 August 2008 01:38

 

georgios1976

reward badge

georgios1976 says

RE: Ford Fiesta 1.6 Titanium (2008): CAR review

I saw the car at the ExCel motorshow and was well impressed by it. Good cabin materials, roomy, well-built. It will be cheap to buy and run, and since it is a Ford, four-digit discounts will be available soon after going on sale. Despite the steering comments, I am sure it will sell well, not only because it is a Ford, but because it is a thoroughly modern, well-conceived product. Things I did not like? The mobile phone-like interface is distracting and has a cheap feeling, some equipment items should be standard and not optional, the lack of a performance diesel like a Grande Punto Sporting M-jet, and the rather optimistic list prices. My prediction is that it will be a huge sales success in Britain and should sell even better than our current sales champ, the Focus.

30 August 2008 21:07

Become a CAR contributor

Upload stories, photos or videos direct to the site, or email newsdesk@carmagazine.co.uk.

Alternatively, call 01733 468 485 (+ 44 1733 468 485)

CAR magazine August issue 625
Untitled Document

Become a CAR contributor

Seen a secret new car, fabulous exotic or have news we should publish? Then get in touch now.