Ferrari, Ford and McLaren scoop top engine award honours for 2013 | CAR Magazine

Ferrari, Ford and McLaren scoop top engine award honours for 2013

Published: 07 June 2013 Updated: 26 January 2015

Think ‘International Engine of the Year’ awards would just concentrate on frugal, downsized powertrains? Not so. Along with Ford and VW’s fuel-saving efforts, Ferrari and McLaren have been recognised for building the world’s best engines in the 2013 awards.

Ford took the overall prize for its 1.0-litre three-cylinder Ecoboost motor, available in the Fiesta, Focus, B-Max and C-Max. Capable of 123bhp or 65.7mpg depending on the spec, it’s the darling of downsizing, offering the performance of a 1.6-litre petrol but less thirst (if you resist the massive urge to rev it silly).

What awards did the supercar brands win?

Ferrari took Performance Engine of the Year for the F12 Berlinetta’s stupendous 6.5-litre V12. The normally aspirated engine produces 730bhp at a screaming 8500rpm, yet has 15% lower CO2 output than the old 599 GTB V12, at 350g/km. It’s also capable of a claimed 18.8mpg.

The F12’s V12 nicked first place from the 458 Italia’s 4.5-litre, 562bhp V8 – not that Ferrari will care. The V8 has won the high-performance award for the past two years running.

McLaren meanwhile took top honours in the 3 to 4-litre category, thanks to the 12C’s bespoke 3.8-litre bi-turbo V8. The judging panel praised its low mass (the engine weighs just 199kg) and McLaren’s recent upgrade, taking power from 592bhp to 616bhp. It’ll also do 24.2mpg, avoiding the top-rate of gas-guzzler tax in the US market.

Check out the full list of 2013’s International Engine of the Year Awards winners below. Spot any absentees that should’ve made the list?


1. Ford 999cc three-cylinder turbo
(Ford Fiesta, B-Max, Focus, C-Max, Grand C-Max)

2. Volkswagen 1.4-litre TSI TwinCharger (Volkswagen Polo, Beetle, Golf Variant, Golf Plus, Golf Cabriolet, Scirocco, Eos, Jetta, CC, Tiguan, Touran/Cross Touran, Passat, Audi A1, A3, Seat Ibiza FR, Alhambra, Ibiza Cupra, Škoda Fabia RS)

3. BMW 2-litre twin-turbo four-cylinder petrol (BMW 125i, 320i, 328i, 520i, 528i, Z4 20i, Z4 28i, X1 20i, X1 28i, X3 20i, X1 28i)

4. Porsche 2.7-litre DI (Porsche Boxster, Cayman)

5. Ferrari 6.3-litre V12 (Ferrari F12 Berlinetta)

6. BMW/PSA 1.6-litre turbo petrol (Mini Cooper S, Clubman Cooper S, Countryman Cooper S, Coupé/Roadster Cooper S, Paceman Cooper S, Cooper Works, Clubman Cooper Works, Coupé/Roadster Cooper Works, Paceman Cooper Works, Peugeot 207cc, 208, 308, 3008, 508, 208 GTI, 308 GTI, RCZ, Citroën DS3, C4 Picasso/Grand Picasso, C5/DS5, C4/DS4)

7. McLaren 3.8-litre V8 (McLaren MP4-12C)

8. Audi 2.5-litre five-cylinder (Audi TT RS, RS3, Q3 RS)

By Ollie Kew

Former road tester and staff writer of this parish